Passengers wait for a bus to return to their hometowns, known locally as “mudik”, ahead of the Eid al-Fitr celebration, amid the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, at Kalideres terminal, in Jakarta, Indonesia, May 3, 2021.

JAKARTA – The Indonesian government has extended its micro-scale community activities restriction (PPKM) and also expanded it to five other provinces to prevent the transmission of COVID-19, according to an official on Monday.

“We are extending the seventh micro-scale PPKM until May 17, 2021,” said Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto.

Hartarto noted that the restriction succeeded in reducing the number of COVID-19 cases in Indonesia to around 5,000 new daily cases this April from about 10,000 new daily cases this January.

The government has also expanded the restriction to five other provinces, namely the Riau Islands, Bengkulu, Central Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, and West Papua.